The main objective of this test will be to determine the eligibility of the Indian National candidates for the award of Junior Research Fellowships (JRF)/NET (National Eligibility Test) and also to determine their eligibility for appointment of Lecturers (NET) in subjects that fall under the faculty of Science & Technology.

• Chemical Sciences • Earth, Atmospheric, • Ocean and Planetary Sciences • Life Sciences • MATHEMATICAL SCIENCES • Physical Sciences • Engineering Sciences

Educational Qualification

JRF : BS - 4 Years program / BE / B.Tech / B.Pharma / MBBS / Integrated BS-MS / M.Sc or equivalent degree with at least 55% marks for general and OBC (50% for SC/ST candidates, physically and Visually Handicapped candidates).

LECTURESHIP: Ph.D Degree holders who have passed Master's Degree prior to 19th September 1991, with at least 50% marks are eligible for Lectureship only.

Examination Centers

The Test will be held at 26 Centers spread all over India. Centers such as Bangalore, Bhavnagar, Bhopal, Bhubaneswar, Chandigarh, Chennai, Cochin, Delhi, Guntur, Guwahati, Hyderabad, Imphal, Jammu, Jamshedpur, Karaikudi, Kolkata, Lucknow, Nagpur, Pilani, Pune, Raipur, Roorkee, Srinagar, Thiruvananthapuram, Udaipur and Varanasi.

Age Limit
Exam NameAge Limit
JRF (NET)Maximum 28 Years (Age Relaxation - 5 Years for SC/ST/OBC, PWD and Female Candidates)
LS (NET)No Upper Age Limit
Examination Structure

Exam paper consist of three Sections:
The Test booklet contains one hundred and twenty Questions (20 in Part ‘A’+ 40 in Part ‘B’+ 60 in Part ‘C’)
Part A: General Aptitude Single correct Answer Type.
Part B: Questions related to subject Single correct Answer Type.

Part C: Questions related to subject MCQ (Multi Correct Question ) Type. In this section Questions may have 'ONE' or 'MORE' correct options. Credit in a question shall be given only on identification of 'ALL' the correct options in Part 'C'. No credit shall be allowed in a question if any incorrect option is marked as correct answer.

Note: You are required to answer a maximum of 15 , 25 and 20 questions from Part ‘A’, ‘B’ and ‘C’ respectively . If more than required number of questions are answered , only first 15 , 25 and 20 questions in Part ‘A’, ‘B’ and ‘C’ respectively , will be taken up for evaluation.

Each Question in Part A contains 2 marks , Part B contains 3 marks and Part C contains 4.75 marks respectively.There will be negative marking @ 0.5 marks in Part A and @ 0.75 marks in Part B for each wrong answer and no negative marking for Part C